Overwhelmed

aaa

Gate up
Charge
Legs pound
Nostrils wide
Muscles Strain.

He stands
Unconcerned
Head down
Maddened eyes
Dust rises.

Heart booms
Wild drum
People cheer
Near him
Closest now.

Braced neck
For weight
But nothing
A sting
Insect bite.

Wheel
Turn back
See him
Charge
Stung!

Again
Sweat in eyes
Sweated flank
Strange languour
Stretched time.

Snort
Shake head
Heavy
Hurl forward
Missed.

Slower turn
Heart racing
Heaving chest
He nears
Pricked.

Dances
Stings
Too light
Stumble
Fall.

No!
Stand
Fierce glare
Narrowed eyes
Bellow.

This time
Grind him
Stomp him
Too slow again
Gone again.

Weary now
Blood
Pouring out
Smell it
Dying.

His eyes
Kind and cruel
‘I think’
He says
‘We need a break.’

38 thoughts on “Overwhelmed

  1. Great piece, Your creative flows are really going lately. Every piece is better than the last and they have all been amazing. As I a reader I extremely delighted to see such great work. πŸ™‚It’s making me want to write some amazing pieces too!πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah Deirdre, I know, I know – I should get out more, and should visit you there in the US, I’m so sorry. I’m a big fan of your wonderful poetry and actually bam in awe of how you manage to produce such lovely work day after day – which is more than I could ever achieve. I have to keep switching genre to get any kind of mileage out of my humble skill set. I guess it I seem to be improving at all it’s because I’m desperately reading and doing practices from the Creative Writing undergraduate material in preparation for the Masters course, which starts today, in fact! So all credit goes to my teachers – Derek Neale and Linda Anderson. I would highly recommend their books. You’re so sweet, Deirdre, I wish that I could stretch out and give you a big hug. πŸ™‚ Have a great day.
    Kindness – Robert.

    Like

Leave a Reply

