In Support of Fridge Magnets

There are lots of things in the world that are unpleasant or onerous but which seem to be around just to teach us a lesson. Examples are: losing almost a third of our lives sleeping, which, let’s face it, is like being dead; having half of our time blotted out by something called night, which is quite inconveniently filled with darkness; and a system that, whilst it admittedly rewards good acts with good stuff, inconveniently gives us bad things when we do bad stuff.

One group of people (well, my wife) says that the first two examples are symbolic of the cyclical nature of things and that we should take them as valuable lessons on how to manage our affairs. Others say that the final example is in place to make us less likely to do bad things (yeah, like that’s working out!)

That’s all well and good – but I have an idea. Rather than us losing so much time to these unproductive periods, we should have a better way of being informed of these ‘valuable lessons’. And instead of being punished (or rewarded) for the things that we do, there should be a more efficient way for us to be notified of the way things work.

Here’s my idea:  Fridge Magnets.

What better way to be reminded of important truths and universal laws than a simple little reminder on an oblong piece of plastic that can be quickly and efficiently fixed to a fridge.

Just think how much important time could be freed up by getting rid of things like sleep, night and karma, and putting them on Fridge Magnets instead. We could then get on with more important things like shopping, eating chocolate and making more money!

I’m sure you can come up with your own examples of things that are just time sucks with no other discernable use than teaching us some kind of a lesson. I’d be interested to know which cosmic laws you think would be better off on a fridge magnet rather than taking up our precious time and energy.

28 thoughts on “In Support of Fridge Magnets

  1. I have a ton of fridge magnets myself. They are all over the place. I don’t put things on them though. I put things under them. Little paper notes or things I need to remember. Some do have useful information on them while others are just magnets.
    I’ve discovered something a bit annoying about having two Word Press accounts. They argue about which one I should use. I have to log one out and lot in the other one. They are different accounts. Can’t they figure that part out? Guess not.
    As for night being dark, I like it that way. I don’t have many bright lights in my house either. OK, it’s late and I’m off to bed. Good night.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Night (for then) and Good Morning (for now), Orpha. 🙂
      The trick to managing two WordPress accounts is to use two different Internet Browsers (Safari / Opera / Firefox / Chrome / Internet Explorer). Sign into one account in one browser and the other in a different browser. 😉
      Have a great day.
      Kindness – Robert.

      Like

  2. My fridge is part of my kitchen units, so has a wood overlaying the metal. No chance of fridge magnets in my house. When my children were young, I used to have a fridge-freezer you could see and we had a box of brightly-coloured magnetised letters. It certainly made spelling tests fun. Rude words like “willy” found their way onto the fridge door, too, of course
    I love my sleep. Being an introvert, it’s essential, so I can recharge in order to deal with people. I have no difficulty getting to sleep, as I’ve trained myself not to actively think about anything. Therefore, it’s like switching off a light in my head. It’s great. Then I wake up refreshed, to the sound of the dawn chorus and with all sorts of interesting ideas in my head, where my subconscious has done lots of work for me, whilst I’ve been in a state of suspended animation.
    So what would I put under fridge magnets, if I had the chance? Going shopping, housework, TV adverts, irritating songs like “Off to sunny Spain”, gossips, and people who say “but it won’t last” about the weather. Of course it won’t last. What morons! There are many more things to add to this list, but I would have to own a whole showroom of fridges to accommodate the magnets.

    Like

  3. Experiencing long-term pain and illness seems to be an unnecessarily brutal way of building up one’s character and developing compassion. Isn’t one or maximum two days enough to learn those lessons? 😉
    Also, if we do indeed go through thousands of reincarnations to learn ‘valuable lessons’, but don’t remember anything from our previous lives, isn’t that rather counter-productive? Extremely tedious, methinks.

    Like

Comments are closed.