Evelyn May Bennett

 

Objects that were important to my nannan: her chair, husband, sport, TV, grandson, Christmas cards, photographs, independence and sense of humour. Those that remind me of her are her grabber, bungalow, betting, false teeth and zimmer-frame.

Important events in their history are her husband dying and telling her to live on, losing all her teeth, getting letters from her brother in the trenches, teaching me how to play solitaire, blushing when I asked her about underwear, getting angry when I locked her on the balcony and being too tired to carry on living at the end.

Things that interest me most about her are the way that she was so well known and remembered even when she could not get out. On the rare occasions that I took her out in her wheelchair – she knew everybody. The way that she was always so kind and loving towards me, contrasted with the fact that her daughter, my mum, said that she was always the disciplinarian. Her acceptance of all that she was, despite not being able to get out for the last decade or so of her life. Her appetite for sport.

Her attitudes and opinions. I think that she was probably racist, although I couldn’t tell you why I say that. She was independently minded and a free spirit. I’ve seen her roused to anger and she would not stand for injustice. She was fearless.

I don’t know if she believed in God – it didn’t seem to come up in conversation. She had a code of morality, but didn’t wear it on her sleeve – she was just naturally good and proper. Interests, as far as I could see, revolved around watching television – particularly sport. There is so much, though, that I did not know about this person. She may well have been different when not with me. Who knows what tendencies, propensities and proclivities she had. She did not seem to have any hobbies, although I did know her to knit when younger. I wonder what she was like when very younger.

As far as behavioural tendencies (habits, tics, temperament) go, she was quite normal really. She didn’t really seem to do or say anything out of the ordinary. She was a Yorkshire woman through and through. Easy going and normal – what more can I say?

Shocking how little I know about this lovely, loving woman. Sad, really.

One thought on “Evelyn May Bennett

  1. This was lovely. Funny how it is with our grandparents, how they meant so much to us yet in the end, we find we know so little about them. You’re right, it is a little sad, but you honored her very well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

