Mostly Sugar

aaa

I was just thinking about my experience at school. I used to get stomach cramps and headaches. I also had various other issues too, like mood swings and feelings of anger and a lack of desire to be with people.

It wasn’t until I was 25 that I realised what it was.

At that point, I had a life full of being tired all the time. And I was so tired of being tired. So I did a detox. I stopped taking in all the things I could think of that could possibly be making me feel that way – sugar, coffee, tea, coca-cola, fizzy drinks, alcohol, chocolate – all of it. Seven days later I was feeling wonderful, with so much energy and well-being that I was amazed.

Then I began stage 2 of my little experiment. I reintroduced each of these things back into my diet one by one and watched my physical and mental reaction. I started with a can of coke. The effect was startling!

I can’t remember the exact details because I haven’t had a can of coke since that day but here’s what I remember. First came a short burst of energy, but a kind of fevered energy. My mind started to whirl quicker and I felt more ‘alive’ somehow. This lasted for ten minutes. Then came the stomach cramps. Surprisingly strong. Then came the itchiness of my skin. Later came a mild headache, but before that was the depression. Again, only mild, but I could identify it immediately as the downturn of the brief upturn in my mood. Later still were other subtle effects in the body and mind, but they were days later and could have been down to something else.

After seven or so day, the cycle was complete and I was back to my ‘normal’ energy filled state. Then I repeated the same thing with the other substances. All followed the same pattern, with slight variations.

The point of me telling you all this is not to say ‘stop eating crap’, although I suppose that is part of it. No, the point is to tell you that if you have health problems, you are not aloneΒ and that there is a way forward. Not to stop what you are doing, but to experiment with your diet in the same way that I did in order to determine whether how you feel has something to do with what you eat.

They say ‘we are what we eat’ so it’s worth a try, yes?

32 thoughts on “Mostly Sugar

    • I’m not sure I can have you coming on my blog and using big words that I don’t know the meaning of, Kevin. πŸ˜€
      I had to look this up: Tachycardia, also called tachyarrhythmia, is a heart rate that exceeds the normal resting rate. In general, a resting heart rate over 100 beats per minute is accepted as tachycardia in adults.
      But yeah, you’re completely right – there’s all sorts of stuff that we routinely eat and drink that’s doing us no good at all – good shout.
      How’s things at your end – I imagine it’s getting a bit cooler now?

      Liked by 1 person

  1. This was exactly my experience at school. Only when I met my (healthier!) partner I realised the rubbish I was filling my body with and the effect it was probably having on my moods. Is it OK to share this on my Facebook page?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I stopped drinking coke three years ago and never had migraine ever again since that day. Since I quit eating wheat an started to eat/cook more and more natural products/foods, my body seemed to heal overall and my energy level so much better. I used the 80/20 rule, so now and then ice-cream or pizza.
    However lately I slipped into 20/80 and starting to feel worse again. So, a big sigh, getting myself together and back to 80/20. There are to many things I still want to do…like speed-reading at your blog πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

