Tears of Joy

aaa

Short thing.

Lots of friends around me are talking about feeling happy and sad at the same time. It made me want to try to experience this, so I turned it into a meditation.

So, I sat down to meditate (or stand or lay if it suits you better) – then I did this: first I felt happy, then I felt sad, then I felt happy again, then I felt sad again, then I felt happier once more, then I … well, you get the idea I guess – repeat until you reach nirvana (other states of transcendentalness are available).

You might be thinking ‘what is the benefit of making myself deliberately sad?’ Well, the point is not to leave yourself in any particular state. The key is to cycle between these states of mind as quickly as possible and consequently feel the synergistic effects of this practice.

Here are the benefits for me:

  • This is a really quick and easy way to go beyond (or get high, depending on your aim). It’s quicker by far than deep breathing and far, far quicker than rolling a joint (cheaper, more reliable and with no side-effects too). This is actually the most effective meditation technique I’ve found so far.
  • It strengthens the neural pathways that lead from sadness to happiness. This means that the next time I am sad, I can easily make myself happy again, because practice makes perfect, yes?

That’s all I wanted to say, really – thanks for reading. πŸ™‚

See – told you it would be a short thing.

(image source: StephiPhotography)

29 thoughts on “Tears of Joy

  1. Pingback: Tears of Joy β€” levishedated | Heywhy's blog

  2. Robert, there should be a word for being happy and sad at the same time. From your description it sounds like the meditation was a success. 😦 πŸ™‚ Wishing you and your neural pathways a wonderful weekend. ~ Mia πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hmm, I’m going to try this as I’m sort of feeling sad for no particular reason. I mean, yes, I have a reason, but sadness has just slowly engulfed me today and I’m having more trouble changing my mindset than usual. I’ll let you know how my neural pathways do… wishing you a joyful weekend

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

