Beautiful Day

aaa

Turned on my radio today
To get the news
To get the blues
Couldn’t believe it when I heard:
Seven billion folk – unscathed!

And I thought whoa,
What’s happening today?
And I thought wow,
What a beautiful delight!

So I pulled on my boots and went
To walk the streets
To stretch my feet
Couldn’t believe it when I saw
Uncle grumps, walking by – smiling!

And I thought whoa,
What’s happening today?
And I thought wow,
What a beautiful delight!

Then I pinched myself and woke up
Sat up in bed
I shook my head
I saw the sunlight streaming in
I heard the birds sing songs so sweet

And I thought hey,
It’s such a beautiful day.
And I thought wow
It’s happening right now!

Robert C Day

(inspired by Fernanda at https://simplyfernanda.wordpress.com/2016/06/21/wild-world/)

55 thoughts on “Beautiful Day

      • Thanks Robert, it’s been a nice Saturday, and I’m just relaxing now in front of the TV (watching nothing in particular!) – hope you have a wonderful day one too. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Writing an epic post (1,800 words) on nothing in particular (okay – it was about archenemies in literature), having breakfast (late) and just about to go for a walk. That’s about it so far. Glad you are getting some relaxing in, Miriam – that’s important.
        Smiling – Robert.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Well 1,800 words is indeed epic, I can’t wait to read it! Maybe it’ll be some late night bedside reading. Enjoy your walk and the rest of your day, Robert. Smiling here too. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • You’ve been productive. Me? Oh I’ve had a lovely day out with the other half. Now he’s off to bed and I’m still up doing what I do … as Sunday night draws to an end. Enjoy your relaxing Robert. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Haha Yes, you have a distinctly misguided impression of me Robert. Whilst I love my coffee and sleep (of which I never get enough) my life consists of a fair amount of drudgery, routine, home chores and the usual monotonies of life!
        Yes, I do still sell my writings, although it’s slowed down these past six months. Many travel magazines here in Australia are going bi-monthly or completely digital which makes it far more competitive. But I have a few articles commissioned and coming up this second half of the year. πŸ™‚
        Have you done any more sleuthing for your writing and/or possible publications to sell to?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sorry about the drudgery and all of that – I kind of knew it was there but, naturally, one doesn’t talk about it much and so …
        Glad that you are selling your writing – it gives me hope. I really, really, really need to get my metaphorical arse into gear (what the heck does that mean?!) with finding somewhere to sell my writing. I’m being way too lazy. 😦
        How did you start the process for yourself?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Gosh, that takes me back.
        I started trying to sell my articles years ago and I remember getting rejection after rejection. It took ages. And then bingo, perseverance paid off. I hit it lucky with one low key and lesser known magazine and then another. And then I started with the bigger mags. I think the key is to know the market, pick your niche, study the magazine, know the style of writing they like and go for it!
        Get details of editors and sub-editors and make contact, and follow up …
        Phew. There’s a lot of competition out there but I really believe if you have what they want you’ll succeed. You just have to put yourself out there.
        Don’t give up, if that’s what you want … πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, I know what you mean!
        There are some days now that I think it’s so much easier to blog. An article is much harder, takes a lot of research and I sometimes don’t see it in print for months …
        Happy to be your inspiration … πŸ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

