Angels

I am in sore need of an angel to teach me how to recognise the angels that stand before me in plain sight.

All the gifts that you have given me, lay idle because I have forgotten who I am.

Teach me again how I might rise.

Show me peace.

Heal me.

Ten little angels to help you to recognise and release the writer person in you:

  1. Trouble. Just when you think that it can’t get any worse – write about it.
  2. People. They are a gift to us at all times and in all places, and that includes you.
  3. Emptiness. The essential precondition to breathing in is emptiness of lungs.
  4. Variety. A plain green salad is nice, but a pasta salad is nice, filling and pretty.
  5. Sadness. Profound emotion scours away the stone-like layers in which we hide.
  6. Forgetfulness. Meditate on the void and the void will fill you. Be wary of wishes.
  7. Regret. Luckily, everything we regret is behind us and never before us. All gone.
  8. Lateness. The best way to get to the end of enjoyment is to rush at it like a snail.
  9. Obstacles. When a herd of cows blocks the road, it’s a great time to stop and pee.
  10. Confusion. A dinosaur looked to the sky and saw the beauty of a fiery meteorite.

Okay – not so much to do with writing at all, but still – when you’re feeling low, as I am right now, you need to be able to see the bright sides of life in order to continue writing.

Please speak to me of bright sides, my angels.

34 thoughts on “Angels

  1. Great list!
    1 to 8 are logical and quite handy.
    9 + 10 are hilarious, great imagery! Chance are I’d remember those 2 for quite some time… Thanks for the laugh 😁.

    How was your walk home yesterday? Would love to see some photos of your view of the river.. .☺

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your words for forgetfulness and about the void – as well as to be wary of wishes. Same with regret, that little gem really made me laugh! You are an angel lighting up our day with your wit and wisdom πŸ™‚ xooxoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • I guess I was trying to light up my own day and some of that light escaped! I’m glad it brought you here and gave me chance to follow you back to your blog – which I’m going to do now.
      Thanks for your kind words and your many hugs and kisses. πŸ™‚

      Like

    • I am grinning as I type this, Chitra. Sharing from the heart is like planting a seed. Sooner or later it blossoms into something beautiful and … well, you are a fragrant flower I guess. Thanks for spreading the colour and beauty of your thoughts and feelings back to me, my friend – I appreciate you.
      Kindness – Robert.

      Like

      • Thank you for your kind words Robert. I appreciate you appreciating me!
        “A day without laughter is a day wasted”- Charlie Chaplin.
        You bring about cheer in your writings, Love the way you stir our minds!! That’s why I keep coming back… Humor is a wonderful gift, never let it go my friend…

        Liked by 1 person

      • πŸ™‚ That’s really sweet of you! I do come back to your blog as there is lot more that I have seemed to have missed!! You, having fear!! Now that’s hard to believe πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • You have explained well about fears Robert. I share the same!! I have voiced about fear in my poem listen to the tiny voice…please do read when you find time…would like to read your review!!! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

    • I just read the first one – about the dark, the candle and the fears and I absolutely love it. You have captured the heart of the feelings, and with your expert assonance, consonance and alliteration the poem just flies along. I like my poetry to be easy to understand and yours is that. Thanks for the link. It won’t let me Like or Comment on some sites on this smartphone and yours is one of those, so I will visit later on my laptop. Thanks for sharing – worth the risk. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.