Astrology

Definition from Oxford University: “Astrology: the study of the movements and relative positions of celestial bodies interpreted as having an influence on human affairs and the natural world“.

Let’s play pretend – you are a modest bungalow. Everything inside the kitchen, lounge, bedroom, toilet and spare room is known to you. When you go out, to the shops, and bring something back into these rooms, it becomes known to you.

This bungalow has a cellar. It is dark and immense – many times bigger than what is above ground. You only know a fraction of what is in the cellar, but it is still part of you.

This bungalow also has an attic that you store old things in. It is big too – far too big for the bungalow to support really.

Imagine a mushroom. The cap is the attic, the stem is you – the bungalow, and the Earth (yes – all of it – note the capitalisation) is the cellar. Outside of the mushroom (stick with me – you are a mushroom now) is sky. Lots of sky. And beyond that – space. Lots and lots and lots of space. Most of what is, is space.

All of the above is connected. Yes – all of it – even the stuff at the other end of the universe. Einstein referring to it as “spooky action at a distance”. It’s all one, vast energy field. Energy is matter is energy. All of this everything-ness is aware of itself (yeah – c’mon – stretch your mind – it’s good for you). You could say that you are the universe being aware of itself. You can accept that you are the consciousness at the heart of all this … everything.

If you followed the above, you just reached out your thoughts and embraced all of everything-that-is with your mind. Your mind is abso-frickin’-lutely awesome. It can leave the bungalow and go out to play. It is not confined to the mushroom. It can clasp to its bosom everything in this universe as if it were just a small bowl of cherries. It can do this before you open your eyes in the morning and start your day. Try it if you don’t believe me. This is your right.

In a tiny corner of the awesomeness of everything that you have just entwined yourself around, are these tiny celestial bodies that the guys at Oxford University say have an influence on human affairs and the natural world.

Sit down and think about this, and ask yourself: ‘really?’ Then reply to yourself: ‘no – they rather have the cart before the horse!’

Re-definition from Me: “Astrology: the study of the movements and relative positions of you interpreted as having an influence on human affairs and the natural world and the celestial bodies“.

Now write from this point of view – and never forget to be awesome!

6 thoughts on “Astrology

  1. I would rather be a tree myself. That’s one way I envision myself and my connection to both Sky and Earth. I feel my leaves and branches stretching up to the sky gathering in the energy of the universe and my roots extending down, down, down into the very center of the earth. Then I picture the energy as settling in the space behind my eyes, my little room. Now I am centered and grounded. As for knowing that I am the Universe experiencing itself, yup that is quite so. The Universe is, as you said, aware. And everything we think and do has an effect on the Universe. You can’t observe something without changing it. As for space, there is more space in an oak table than there is matter or in any other thing we see around us. We see the world as being solid (except for air of course) but the truth is that it’s made up of uncountable numbers of atoms that never touch each other. And, of course, matter is just a form of energy. Energy equals mass times the speed of light squared. The speed of light squared is a very large number so imagine how much energy is contained in this universe of ours. Oh,I could carry one for much longer on this subject. You pushed one of my buttons but that’s not a bad thing… I hope.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OOPS… I meant effect not affect. I’m not quite away yet. I itch to go up there and edit the thing but this isn’t my blog so…. could you please change it Robert? I know the difference between affect and effect and I’m annoyed with myself. LOL. Affect is usually a verb and effect is a noun.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

