Oracle

Oracle

Usually, when I’ve finished writing, I do a lot of editing in order to make sure that what I have said is proper and lined up. I’m not going to do that today so what you are going to get is a stream directly from my subconscious processes. This is my method of writing stories, but not sure how well it will apply to articles such as this. Let’s see.

The Oracle is a concept that’s not really in play in the ‘modern world’ but that doesn’t mean that we can’t use it. In fact, because it’s not now in fashion, we can say that we are establishing a new fashion – yay!

‘Automatic writing’ is perhaps the nearest we can get to ‘The Oracle’ these days, so here are a few tips to use in order obtain words straight from the mouth of the Oracle:

  • Get out of the way. The conscious mind is always trying to interfere where writing is concerned so we need to find a way to shut it up. Some advocate drink and/or drugs, but although this may work for the short-term, this is not viable for the long haul. Meditation or mindfulness are really good tools to get the mind to slow down and to diminish the number of thoughts residing there. Once these are out of the way, creativity can really flow and good results can follow.
  • Never stop. Sometimes, in the middle of writing, you will run out of relevant words. At this point, you may be tempted to stop and ‘think about it’. This can be a mistake. A better thing to do is just carry on writing. Often, when you can’t think of what to say, this is because the conscious mind has run out of thoughts. This is actually precisely what you are aiming to do. When you have run out of thoughts, you will start to draw on the only resource you have left – the subconscious.
  • Sleep less. Not so that you will have more time to write (although this is an added bonus) but because when you type tired, you tend to fall into little micro-sleeps. And when you sleep, you dream. These micro dreams are hardly ever about what you are writing, and this is good because they are based on the kind of irrelevant, irreverent and irregular ideas that can really enrich your writing.
  • Gather experience. Subject yourself to as many wild and wonderful experiences as you possibly can. The wider your base of experience is, the more chance you have of writing something interesting. So, the next time you are invited to go paintballing or bungee jumping or … anything at all – just say ‘yes’! (unless you really don’t want to, in which case you should definitely say ‘yes’!)

Above all – you should trust your intuitive mind to lead you down the correct path. Many things have been done on the basis of solid planning and have subsequently gone awry so you might as well give this a try instead. What have you got to lose?

 

10 thoughts on “Oracle

  1. When I write in my journals when I’m half asleep or, even worse, asleep, I wish I could say that i write lovely things. I might but since I’m writing with paper and pen I can’t understand a word I wrote. Often the words are stacked on top of each other. I have had some interesting ideas pop up when I’m just drifting off to sleep and sometimes I might write them down but mostly I don’t. I tell myself to remember them and quite often I do. Dreams are also a great place for different ideas… well if you have weird dreams like I do they are. For those you need to keep and pen and paper by your bed so you can write them down when you first wake up. I have some weird stuff in my dream journal. But I find the best idea is to mediate on something and then, with eyes closed, write whatever comes to mind without stopping to edit what you think you should be saying. Just let the words pour out of your mind. Of course there will be some strange misspellings and even some things that just are puzzling. But just keep on going. I don’t make that many errors with my eyes closed to tell the truth. I touch type in any case so who needs eyes to do that? I once tried writing with my eyes closed with pen and paper. That was a really weird mess. LOL. After that I stuck to typing only.

    I’m not sure I would call this a “oracle.” I think it’s more like a “muse.” What is the difference? A muse is “(in Greek and Roman mythology) each of nine goddesses, the daughters of Zeus and Mnemosyne, who preside over the arts and sciences.” An oracle is “a priest or priestess acting as a medium through whom advice or prophecy was sought from the gods in classical antiquity.” I’ve always called that part of me my “muse.”

    Liked by 3 people

    • You’re a mirror for me Orpha. I love that you come over here and share so many wonderful ideas and thoughts – thanks so much for honouring me with that.
      Thanks also for sharing the distinction between Oracle and Muse. I kind of knew that I had the wrong definition of Oracle, but I didn’t know which other name to hang around its neck. Now I do, so thanks. 🙂
      Best line ever: ‘let the words pour out of your mind’.

      Like

      • I did mention that I collect words didn’t I? I’m also a stickler for the correct usage of words but I general just make a face let it pass. But in your case I knew you would like to know the word that you were using wasn’t quite right. With you, I know I can say that without you getting in a snit.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Such an interesting post….and very helpful…I need to get out of my own way when I write…although I write from a ‘stream of conciousness’ place, it can be such a long process because my concious mind keeps over-thinking and interjecting….takes the fun and relaxation out of it…but, I will continue to work on it…also, I especially appreciate your suggestion that we seek adventure…that is a sure source of inspiration for me…the inspiration to let go and allow the wonders of life to surprise me and spark my imagination….thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • It’s taken me a long time to trust the words that emerge from my lips. In the beginning, I would search for inspiration on the internet and re-write what I found there. This article is straight from something at the heart of me. I am therefore a gazillion times more appreciative of your kind comments in this case.
      Having said that – I think you are very kind by nature and I enjoy immensely reading your every word.
      Thank you very much, Truly.

      Liked by 1 person

      • So funny…I wrote a comment just previous to reading this, and I stated that I understood what it was like to share from the heart (the vulnerability in that) and then, I read this add you made the same reference…proves we are on the same page. And, thank you for your sweet compliment…I am kind by nature, but I am also honest….I mean every word–and not because I am trying to make you happy…I mean, that is the result, but what I say is true 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.