Wealth

You think I’m going to talk about money – right? Maybe I’ll give you a list of cookie cutter, get-rich schemes that you can pull off over the internet? Perhaps I’ll share a get-in-on-the-ground-floor, reliable way to become a trillionaire from your armchair?

Nah. This is all about real wealth – the kind you don’t measure by the size of your bank balance.

Some say that health is wealth, or family is wealth. Nah. I’m not even going to go there.

Underneath your skin, deeper than your bones, further in than your deepest desires, is a kernel of truth. It’s the easiest truth of all to find. It’s the heart of who you are. It’s that which lives beyond words and names. It’s you.

So, you’re probably thinking to yourself – what is he babbling on about? How can he tell us about this magical thing if he doesn’t use words? Simples – you use your feelings instead.

Sit down if you’re standing up and take five really deep breaths …

Innnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

Ouuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuut

Innnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

Ouuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuut

Innnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

Ouuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuut

Innnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

Ouuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuut

Innnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

Ouuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuut

Now check how you feel. Maybe you feel a little lightheaded? Maybe you feel like you got a bit of a rush? Perhaps your mind feels slightly clearer? Possibly you’re having a touch of what feels like happiness?

If so, then yeah – you just got in touch with yourself. Give yourself a pat on the back!

The next step is to hold on to that feeling. This is really simple in principle, but it takes practice for it to become firm. If you’re still feeling that slight buzz – a bit like a cloud of light in the front of your head, then try to focus your attention on it. With any luck, you’ll find that you can slip into that feeling and immerse yourself in it pretty easily. In fact, it probably feels so good to do this that you won’t feel like leaving it. Then don’t!

With a little practice, this feeling can be carried around with at all times, in all places and under any circumstances. It can be your shield and armour in the midst of an argument. It can be your umbrella under a storm of adverse events. It can be your harbour, your blanket, your shelter.

Nurture it, give it love, support it as it grows, feed it as it matures then swing gleefully from its strong branches as it attains an invincible strength. This is you at your magnificent best. This is you enjoying your true wealth. It really is that simple – you just have to be you and you’re automatically wealthy.

16 thoughts on “Wealth

      • I can’t remember who actually said it but it’s not an Orpha Original. My computer was being weird and posting even that much was a chore. I would enter something and it would take several seconds for the words to appear. Seconds are much too long to wait for what I’m entering to appear. It should be nearly instant. It appears to be but I’m not totally certain about that. Computer time and my time are two different things.
        Now… the breathing thing. Five deep breaths is nothing. I regularly do more than that when I meditate. Do I feel light headed? Not at all. I do contact the something inside of me who is watching everything… the silent observer. If you can stay inside this observer and watch the world through those eyes you are in the “now moment.” It’s difficult to maintain but worth practicing. It was especially difficult when I was working at Walmart as a cashier but I would often be able to do it. I’m not certain is this is what you had in mind but it’s what happens to me when I do that. You didn’t call it Meditation but that’s what it is. I do it all the time.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I feel that we are on the same page with the meditation and the breathing Orpha, as well as with the silent observer. We even use the same labels in our own minds. The trouble with labels (like ‘God’ and ‘meditation’) is that when people see them, they have an automatic response, which may (or may not) be something like ‘been there, done that, don’t need to listen’. Therefore, I try to speak about the experience behind the label in the hope that I can convey more information before the minds immune system kicks in.
        I have much the same experience as you in my daily life, where I’m trying to strengthen my ‘meditation practice’ so that I can be independent of place and circumstances – always in the moment – always ‘mindful’.
        At the end of the day, I think that I’m preparing for death (no, don’t worry – not today or anytime soon) in that I want to be aware of where I am so that I stand a better chance of knowing where I’m going.
        As for your computer – have you tried powering it down and switching it back on? 🙂

        Like

  1. Well it was fairly late at night so I just finished what needed to be done and turned it off. Rebooting a computer takes time, after all, and why bother when I’m ready to go to sleep anyway? Actually, that’s my go to solution for most all weird things this computer does. Now, if you will excuse me, it’s being a bit glitchy (you will notice I didn’t us the B word) so I’m off to reboot the sucker.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re lovely Orpha. Hope that rebooting the sucker did the trick. I gave up on Windows based computers a long time ago and switched to a MacBook Pro. It is now 8 years old and is still going strong. It boots up in 30 seconds flat and shuts down in 6 seconds. I would never go back. 🙂

      Like

  2. This computer was custom built. All of my computers have been from the very first one I owned. I don’t think you can custom build MacBooks. LOL No lions or tigers or any other big cats on my computer.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good for you. One of my friends was talking about those this morning. He was having problems with his laptop computer and lost some information that he needed. We run a web competition together. He wasn’t sure about the new SSD drives. But apparently it works for you. Memory is always a good upgrade and usually makes the computer faster.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

