Winemaking

To make wine: squash some grapes, add some yeast, leave it for a bit. People have been doing it for thousands of years – it’s not difficult. But here’s the thing – what should you do with the wine once you’ve made it? Here’s an idea: get your characters drunk.

It’s said that if you want to develop a proper character – one that lives and breathes, then you have to know a lot about him or her – way more than you will ever use in your story. What better way to do this than to get them drunk on wine!

Wine has long been used as a social lubricant. You only need to think about some of the things people do and say when they are drunk that, when morning comes, they cringe to remember. Confessions, public declarations of love, family secrets, skeletons in the closet – all of these are things that round a character out, and all of these are discoverable under the influence of wine.

So, grab yourself a bottle and a couple of comfy chairs – settle yourself down for the evening with your favourite characters and drink yourself to knowledge.

Cheers!

6 thoughts on “Winemaking

  1. Actually grape juice will ferment by itself and become wine. If it sets too long then it becomes vinegar. You can see the connection in the word.. grape vines and VINEgar. LOL I’m not fond of wine or grape juice. I love grapes on the other hand.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow – yeah, of course. Never saw the connection before but now I know why it’s called vinegar. I must confess that I eat more grapes than I drink wine too. But I couldn’t do without vinegar – chips just wouldn’t be the same without salt and vinegar on them. 🙂

      Like

      • Well, I don’t eat chips with vinegar on them as to me a chip is a thin crunchy thing made from potatoes and come in a ton of different flavors. Some chips have little ripples in them and I love that kind. I understand you call those “crisps”. I think that our french fries are more like your chips but I don’t put vinegar on those either. The only thing I like on french fries is salt. As for vinegar, I can’t run my kitchen without it. My favorite is balsamic vinegar and I love red wine vinegar as well.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve never tried red wine vinegar, but I love balsamic. French fries are very skinny and so would not be suitable for vinegar – I agree with you that they are much better with just salt on. Let me just look up what your equivalent of chips is … ah – here we go: steak fries! Or maybe potato wedges. 🙂

        Like

  2. Yeah, steak fries or potato wedges would be it I think. I like those a lot. Potato wedges are quite tasty. They are often cooked in the oven rather than fried. I make them sometimes myself. No vinegar though. Olive oil, garlic, herbs… whatever I feel like at the time. Toss the potato wedges in the oil and seasoning and pop them in a oven. Bake until nicely browned. YUM! Some people coat them with crumbs or Parmesan cheese, among other things, but I don’t. They can be fried as well but I like the oven baked ones.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.